So where did the rings go?

About two weeks ago I posted about a shocking turn of events in my planning system. It’s a book…without rings. Scary! In fact, it is a Hobonichi Techo – which is a6 size. So it is the same sized paper as I am currently using but it is in a bound book…without rings. I’m still getting used to the last part. So why did I change?

Well of late I have stopped using regular pens and now solely only use fountain pens to write with – and a pencil sometimes. The Hobonichi is made out of Tomoe River paper, which is vastly regarded as the most recommended paper to use fountain pens on. It is extremely thin, imagine bible paper thin, but it is very resistant to the ink – so it doesn’t soak it up like most papers. This means that inks that have a sheen to them (inks they almost appear to be two colours) will show more of their sheen on tomoe river paper compared to regular paper.

Next, I wanted a change this year. Whilst I liked the inserts I currently use I sometimes struggle to keep up to date with printing them…and the thought of doing that in one big patch at the start of the year sounded horrible. Plus I wanted Tomoe River paper and I suspected that wouldn’t be the easiest paper to print on so I decided to buy a planner already printed on Tomoe River paper.

I’m still trying to figure out how I am going to set it up and I am impatiently waiting for the start of the new year when I can start using it. I will write in more detail when I have figured it all out…

3 Replies to “So where did the rings go?”

  1. Now’s the ideal time to decide how you’re going to use your new Techno, before 2018 is on us Emma. It looks nice I have to say and the paper sounds amazing. I hope that you’ll update all your readers with how it goes and how you’re enjoying your new experiment?

    Like

  2. I have used the Hobo Techo all of 2017. My Filofax was stored on a shelf. I will continue with the Hobo in 2018 because I can work well with the set up of the monthly and daily pages. And I like the fact that it has no rings, although I love my Filofax since the late 1980s and will always keep that for storing Personal Information. I also look forward to hearing how you like it.

    Like

Share your thoughts