Using a Van der Spek a5 Writing Case

*I did mean to post photos with this although time and other commitments have prevented me from doing so currently*

So it’s been a couple of months since I received my VdS A5 Writing Case, so I’d thought I’d give a update about it and how I have been using it.

The leather is still in really good condition, despite a few very close calls when a cat decided to stand on them. It still looks absolutely brand new.

What I really like about this case is how small and lightweight it is compared to a regularly a5 binder. It feels very compact.

The left side can hold a surprising amount, however the more you put it in the more it does bulk out the top begins to lift away from the rest of the binder as there is no clasp to hold it in place. When I went to transport this to University as someone wanted to see it I did end up taking about half the contents of it out. Other than that trip it has never left the house, because it is a letter writing kit and I don’t usually write letters away from home.

The case itself is very nice to write on. I use the VdS pad as a pad and I write on it. Being left handed I thought that the left hand side would get in the way but when I sit on the sofa I just prop it up slightly against the side of the sofa and write as normal. When I write on my lap I also do not find it an issue to write with the left side, as you might expect it to be with your left arm having to go over it to get to the right side to write. Although I am sure VdS would consider reversing it for left handers if you wanted to. The left side cannot be folded back on itself, as their is something under the leather preventing that, although again, I am sure VdS could change that if you requested. It is strong and sturdy that it just lies flap and holds it shape, it’s not floppy and I just write as if writing a birthday card. It doesn’t get in the way at all.

I love the pad with it’s matching strip of leather. I had planned to use it after I had finished my current pad of paper but I think it’s too pretty and works too well as a hard surface to write on that I think I will keep it for the time being.

If you have any questions about the writing pad please let me know and I’ll be happy to answer them if I can.

Share your thoughts