My Filofaxes: Compact Patent Lemon

*I did mean to post photos with this although time and other commitments have prevented me from doing so currently*

I thought the lemon colour of this planner just looked so beautiful, it I got it for around £20 so I thought it was a reasonably cheap planner. However I just don’t like it all that much.

Firstly it’s a compact, which means it has smaller rings and whilst they maybe great for stopping planners getting too bulky, I just don’t really see the point. It’s the same size as a personal so in reality it’s not any less bulky, it just means that you fill it more quickly and then you have that annoying pages flying everywhere when open it.

Another thing that annoys me with this planner is that it does not remotely lie flat or want to attempt to do that. My personal original lies flat and it has done so from day one – it’s so nice to just lie in on a table open and see my task list. I can’t do that with this patent planner.

Next off I don’t really like the plastic-feel of the planner I suppose it’s personal taste.

However, the biggest problem I have with this planner was the dye transfer from of my other planners. So it now has brown stains on it. I tried somewhat successfully to get the colour off using nail varnish remover and whilst it lightened it, it did in one part take off the shiny feel to the planner in that spot. It’s not very noticeable in terms of looking at the planner, you mostly feel it (and see a little bit of the brown stain). I shouldn’t have really tried messing with it but I wanted to give it a go and I wasn’t overly worried about ruining it because it’s only going to sit on the shelf and store spare pages in it – of which I appear to have rather a lot of paper. So much so that I don’t think I’ll need to buy note paper for the next two/three years.

Share your thoughts

