I was seduced by Commercial Toner

So earlier this year I wrote a blog about my homemade skincare products and shared my experiences about why I made the switch from store bought to natural. Whilst I’m not entirely natural, I do have a exfoliator I use that is store bought, I do use a homemade cleanser, toner and moisturiser. However my mum was given a little sample of two store bought toners as a gift with purchase. I liked the pretty little bottles and thought that it had been at least four, possibly five months since I had used a store bought toner. So I thought I’d give these a go.

My first impressions of them were great, my skin felt so clean, like it tingled because it was so clean. I used them once, occasionally twice a day for about a week and boy did I start seeing results. Not good results, but results none the less. My skin started breaking out. Now I do get spots at least once, if not twice a month, but using this store bought cleanser my skin got three times the amount of spots I had experienced from the past couple of months. Nothing else had changed to my routine, I didn’t put on more makeup than normal. Just changed the toner.

Needless to say I am back to homemade toner and after about a two weeks my skin was back to normal and is currently spot free. I’ve learnt my lesson to stick to my homemade stuff…no matter how alluring the pretty packaging looks.

Share your thoughts

