Dad’s Army (1 1/2 Stars)

I wasn’t overly looking forward to this film, something told me it just wasn’t going to be all that great. I suppose it was because I was never really a huge fan of the television series, whilst it was funny and there was the odd laugh, it just seemed all a bit too silly – I mean no one could be that stupid and incompetent really?

Well the film is much like the TV series and I don’t think you have to be a fan of the TV show to appreciate this film. I just felt that despite a great cast that has some of Britain’s finest actors in it: Bill Nighly, Toby Jones, Michael Gambon, Bill Paterson, Sarah Lancashire, Mark Gatiss and Alison Steadman, I just wasn’t that inspired.

Throughout the film it almost seemed like copyright prevented some catchphrases and the theme music being used but perhaps the sustained cloak and dagger references to the tv show were just there to entertain those who were a fan.

As for the storyline, I just felt that it was worthy of a 30 minute TV episode but it had been dragged out to make a feature film, and it was painfully too long.

Whilst I did enjoy the moderate nostalgia trip, it did make for an incredibly dull two hours at the cinema.

 

Share your thoughts

