My Filofaxes: Mini Black Baroque

I’ve seen in a couple of places people going crazy about the Baroque, particularly the personal sized Baroque in the blue/aqua hue. It goes for stupid money on some sites. I did bid on one the other week and missed out on it. I did however find a mini Baroque for sale on ebay. Mini’s are not the most popular size out there so I was able to get it for a good price. I brought it mostly to see what all the fuss about them once. According to Steve Morton from Philofaxy, no one was particularly bothered with them until Filofax discontinued them, then all of a sudden everyone wanted them.

I really like the pocket configuration in this planner, much more so than the Malden. It has four pocket slots which allow the card to slot into the top, compared to the Malden’s two pockets which slide the card in from the side. In addition is also has the two pockets that the Malden has. Secondly – the thing I really love is that it has a massive in comparison to the malden zip pocket which allows you to put more coins in. In the back it has a full length secretarial pocket like the pocket Malden, but the mini Malden has the two slide pockets like in the front.

The thing that this Filofax is missing is the back full length slot on the Malden which is great for storing notes in.

I really like the Baroque feel on it. But I think this Filofax has too much leather in it. It doesn’t seem to lie as flat as the leather on my other Filofaxes and whilst I really like the inside. I really don’t like inside. Another feature I don’t like is the pen loop which sits outside of the planner, which means that when the Filofax is closed it has wrinkled.

I do really like the Baroque nature of the Filofax, but I think if I was to make this planner I would have removed some of the leather to give it that more taunt experience of the Malden , added in the note pocket and put the Baroque pattern on the front as well as the inside.

On the whole. I really like the zipped compartment and wish that the Malden had one as big. I am keeping my eyes out for a pocket version of it.

I got this ‘second hand’ off Ebay. It had been owned by someone else who had just kept it in the box. When I got it I was interested to see what a ‘second hand’ Filofax would be like. I was a bit nervous about ordering it. I opened it and my heart sank as it look like the rings had in-bedded in the leather and caused it to tear. I got out some polish and a cloth and gave it a clean to my relief I found it was just dust. So it arrived undamaged which was great. I would consider buying used again.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

5 responses to “My Filofaxes: Mini Black Baroque

  • caendicott

    The black baroque is very beautiful! The aqua/teal baroque in Personal size, is my unicorn. They do go for a ridiculous amount, you’re right. I was able to get a hold of a pocket malden in the aqua/teal. I don’t know what I’m going to do with it yet, but I have it! (And as my husband says, I can always resell it!)

    Like

    • Emma

      One went for £102 on Ebay just before Christmas, which I didn’t think was a bad price for it. I bid on it but I was outbid. I am glad now I didn’t win it. Personally, I just feel like they did not trim the leather to the right size and it looks too lumpy. It rather spoils the effect. I do prefer the pockets of the Baroque though, especially in personal size. You could always switch to pocket size, but there is a Malden lookalike which is in various sizes on Aliexpress – apart from the lack of ‘Filofax’ written on the popper it is hard to notice that it is not a Filofax, it is cheaper than a standard one too. I’d be interested to see what the quality of one of those was like.

      Like

  • FW

    I love the baroque. But I missed out on the chance to order it while they still had it on FF website. So ended up getting the exact same mini from Amazon. I don’t really have any use for it. The mini is way too small for me. But I do have a look it from time to time, just because it’s so pretty. 🙂

    Like

    • Emma

      A mini is great for just throwing some plain paper in and having it as an on the go note maker. I use my mini as a wallet. So if I don’t want to take my big Personal I just throw this in my back pocket and get use it to give someone a number or jot down a shopping list or something on the go.

      Liked by 1 person

  • Update: My Filofax as a purse | A random English life

    […] my purse to hand to always write them in. They are now housed in my personal Filofax. I also have a Mini Baroque which houses them when they are filled. So now this is fully a […]

    Like

Share your thoughts

