The Last Witch Hunter (3 1/2 Stars)

I wasn’t expecting much from this film going in, the advert made it look ok, but the job of the advert is to make most films look like you want to see it. I thought it would be ok for an advert and then at best below average. However I was pleasantly surprised. The film is somewhat original in storyline, although it does have flashbacks of Sleepy Hallow and Constantine.

It centres around Kaulder (Vin Diesel) who is a witch hunter in the midst of destroying a coven of witches who have sent the Black Death to kill the race of Humans. In the process of killing the Witch Queen (Julie Engelbrecht), Kaulder is cursed to an immortal life, with the Queen’s dying breath. Skip forward 800 years later, witches are allowed to life but only because of a strict law enforced by Klauder and the humans. However it seems the status quo is about to change with the murder of Kaulder’s Dolan, a priest who records and collects the story of Kaulder.

The film is good, the special effects in it, I thought were nice and I particularly like them. I thought Chole (Rose Leslie) was a great sidekick for Kaulder and had a bit of a bite too her. She plays a character similar to her Game of Thrones character, which I liked. I think she’s great in that alternative strong female who can look after herself character. Would I rush out to see a sequel…or hope they make one? Probably not. I think it was great as a one off but I don’t think it is strong enough to make a franchise out of it.

Share your thoughts

