My Filofaxes: Personal Jack Original

If you’ve not already guessed what this blog is going to be about from the title here’s a sneak peak…imageBut before we start, I have a confession to make…I’ve had this filofax for over a week but haven’t had the time to to take photos…so I’ve left it in the box (I didn’t even open it to have a peak!) since it arrived! Today I opened it up and pulled it out to take photographs.

This is the Filofax Original in Jack, it’s a limited edition from Filofax. I bought it from Speedy Hen and got 50% off – delivery and service were faultless and the price was awesome! It comes with 2016 inserts which is a bonus – but alas I won’t be using them. But let’s stop talking for a moment to have a look…

image

image

Beautiful right? I am obsessed with maps and flags, the older the better. Someone posted a comment about asking people what would be your ideal planner (that doesn’t exist but you would like it to). I thought about it and realised that my perfect planner, or a unicorn as some like to call it would be an Original Union Jack. Which would probably explain why I bought it even though I really do not need it. I think the only other planner I would rush out to buy is if they do either a map or a German flag.

The leather on this one feels weird compared to my Dark Aqua original. I described the dark Aqua leather previously as being very smooth compared to the Malden. But the Jack is either smoother, the dark Aqua now feels like it has a texture to it. The Jack also feels like it has a bit of a shiny texture to it if that makes sense…it’s not patent or shiny at all…it just feels that way. Maybe it’s the coating process because the Jack has three colours on it. I don’t know. The Jack is definitely a matt finish as you can see. It comes with the traditional jot pad in the back. I really like the jot pad, I think they are so useful and one of the great selling points of an Original. It still has it’s trustee elastic which I also like.

I’m struggling to think what to do with this filofax, as I really do not need another one. I am thinking about turning it into a journal. Where I put in a day per page insert or something and then just do some writing. Just I am not sure if that will be enough when I get into the swing of it. I guess this will require a second post. To be continued…

image

imageimage

6 responses to “My Filofaxes: Personal Jack Original

  • devalayer

    Thank you for sharing these pictures! I too think it’s a stunning planner but can’t quite justify it financially (even with the fantastic Speedy Hen deal…)

    Like

    • Emma

      Oh I know, I would like the A5 but I don’t have a need/use for it and there’s the cost. It is probably my dream planner though (unless they come out with like a medieval map one or something). So I had to get it really :). You’re at Warwick? It’s nice to see another Midlander with a filofax obsession 🙂

      Like

      • devalayer

        You absolutely should have it – your dream planner only comes along once in a blue moon and it was such a good deal! I’m slightly more craving something bright yellow, so might save up for the Kikki K soon to be released… But a mdeieval map one would have me craving as well 😉

        And I’m no longer at Warwick, graduated this summer (time to update that profile, huh?) Currently hiding out in Oxford while I hunt for the perfect job 😛

        Like

      • Emma

        Lol I no longer feel guilty buying it…but that maybe because I bought a pocket filofax today (it was less than a tenner and I’m thinking about opening an etsy store…so having a pocket would come in useful for judging sizes etc.) Lol sounds fun! I hope you find your dream job soon!

        Like

      • devalayer

        It#s so easy to start collecting / especially with ebay habving plenty of bargains (and TK Maxx isn’t a bad shout for those either..)

        Like

  • My Filofaxes: Pocket Vintage Jack | A random English life

    […] you can seen from my previous posts on the Vintage Jack and the Original Jack. I like Union Jacks on my Filofax…I’ve had my eye on a Pocket Vintage Jack in my WH […]

    Like

Share your thoughts

