DIY Shampoo Review

image

Over a month ago I wrote a post about how I made my own shampoo, you can find it here. I’ve been impatiently waiting a month to test it out. This week I have given it a go and now I finally can do a review of it.

I must say I am a little bit on the fence and perhaps a bit disappointed with this shampoo. I thought it would be the miracle shampoo I hoped it would be. I’m not going to give up with it just yet (particularly as I have ten bars!), but it seems I will have to do some trial and error experimenting to see if I can get it to work for me.
image

First Impressions.

I was impressed by this bar when I used it in the bath. It lathered up really well and it was so nice to have lather in your hair…I have missed the lather effect and I thought yes! The best of both worlds – a shampoo bar that is like a commercial shampoo in terms of lather but none of the nasty SLS in it. I just rinsed and went about my bath…I used the bar for body washing too and it was really nice – I gave it a go on my face too. Multi-purpose product…I loved it.

After getting out of the bath and trying to put a comb through my wet hair I noticed it tangled…badly. It felt like my hair had been glued together almost. I didn’t want to damage my hair so I left it to dry naturally (I was able to sort my fringe out so that wouldn’t look horrific when dry). I tried later that day and the next day to get a comb and a brush through the ends of my hair and it just was not playing ball. So I had another bath and I dipped the ends of my hair into a Apple Cider Vinegar mixture, this is 1 tbsp into the containers I got from amazon and the rest filled up with water. My hair wasn’t perfect but was dramatically improved. I then left my hair for about 5 days. It looked good and clean, not problems with it.

Second attempt.

I washed it again about 5 days later, again I was impressed with the lather and my hair felt clean. This time I made sure to use the apple cider vinegar mixture, I had used half the time before so used the remaining half. I still had the same problem with the dry ends, and my scalp had this weird greasy feel to it. When it dried my hair looked pretty good. My hair looked pretty good the last time I washed it too. My mum commented it felt so dry though. I sprayed a natural conditioner into it. It felt dry and difficult to separate. The next day however my hair feels nice. It’s soft to the touch, it does look a little flatter and I can get a brush through it without much problem. I don’t know if I am completely sold on it at the moment. I will absolutely use it for my body…and even my face. Although my skin did break out in acne but that’s because I am wearing a foundation quite a bit more these days…and not always taking it off at night and it’s a heavy foundation. So I am pretty convinced that is the reason for the acne.

I will leave it another few weeks, experiment and come back with a longer term opinion on whether it is a hit or a miss.

Share your thoughts

