Legend (4 Stars)

Tom Hardy stars as both Ronnie and Reggie Kray, twins who operated a gang in 1960s London. The film focuses on Reggie’s attempt to control his mentally unstable and overly aggressive brother Ronnie.

I have been waiting for this film for a few weeks now and I am to say it didn’t disappoint. I thought Tom Hardy played Reggie Kray very well…but to completely change persona in the same film and play Ronnie as well…He was phenomenal. That was some beautiful acting. Even just his facial expressions made the two twins stand out of completely fully developed characters in their own right.

I was a little more disappointed with Frances (Emily Browning) I didn’t feel her character was as richly developed as Ronnie and Reggie and whilst you could argue that was because she was a secondary character…I thought the set up of the film with Frances as narrator set this character up to a primary character…rather than secondary. I just wasn’t feeling a strong push…and I don’t think it has to do with a 1960s submissive female – which despite the view of the 1960s being a sexual revolution and the beginning of feminism was not as progressive as we would naturally assume.

The violent scenes in this were absolutely fantastic and I don’t think a good Krey movie could be done on anything less than an 18.

Throughout this film I wanted to give it 5 stars but something was holding me back. I can’t quite put my finger on what was missing and I think it might have been a bit more of a 60s music vibe. In the club scenes the singing was fantastic but I don’t know…I think it was a little too classy. Nevertheless this is one of the must see films so far…well worth a worth

Share your thoughts

